Jarvis Cocker’s JARV IS… to release ‘This Is Going Hurt’ soundtrack on vinyl

Jarvis Cocker‘s band JARV IS… have announced a vinyl edition of their This Is Going Hurt original soundtrack.

The group wrote and performed both the score and a collection of original songs for the medical comedy-drama, which aired earlier this year on BBC One. JARV IS… later released the soundtrack on digital streaming services.

READ MORE: JARV IS… live at Glastonbury 2022: forward-looking set proves nostalgia doesn’t own Worthy Farm

Today (September 29), JARV IS… have confirmed that the ‘This Is Going To Hurt’ album will arrive on vinyl on October 21. £1 from each copy sold will go to a charity benefiting NHS workers.

“It’s our love song to the NHS,” the Pulp and JARV IS… frontman said in a statement. See the announcement post beneath.

JARV IS…’ soundtrack was recorded by Drew Dungate-Smith at Narcissus Studios in London. The majority of the performances are live takes, and were often recorded while the band watched key sequences from the TV show.

Per a press release, Cocker had access to the scripts from an early stage in the production process.

Comprising seven episodes, This Is Going To Hurt is based on Adam Kay’s award-winning memoir of the same name. The series follows Kay (Ben Whishaw) as he works as a junior doctor in an NHS hospital.

The show also features songs by the likes of The Maccabees, Radiohead and Florence + The Machine.

You can see the full tracklist for JARV IS…’ ‘This Is Going To Hurt’ below, and pre-order the vinyl edition here.

1: ‘This is Going to Hurt’
2: ‘Visiting Hours’
3: ‘Adam’s Nightmare’
4: ‘Dark Wave’
5: ‘Dare To Love’
6: ‘Shruti’
7: ‘Job Description’
8: ‘Difficult C Section’
9: ‘Fuck This’
10: ‘Just Another One of Those Days’
11: ‘All I Have is Yours’

12: ‘Shruti (The Golden Thread)’

Over the summer, Jarvis Cocker confirmed that Pulp will reunite for a series of live concerts next year. The Sheffield band haven’t played a show together since 2012.

The post Jarvis Cocker’s JARV IS… to release ‘This Is Going Hurt’ soundtrack on vinyl appeared first on NME.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy