Working Men’s Club announce new album ‘Fear Fear’, share single ‘Widow’

Working Men’s Club have announced full details of their second album, called ‘Fear Fear’ – listen to first single ‘Widow’ below.

The band’s self-titled debut album came out in 2020, and they announced last September that its follow-up was finished.

READ MORE: Working Men’s Club: the Yorkshire group representing a frustrated Northern youth

‘Fear Fear’ will come out on July 15 via Heavenly, and frontman Syd Minsky-Sargeant discussed its creation and themes in a statement, saying: “The first album was mostly a personal documentation lyrically, this is a blur between personal and a third-person perspective of what was going on.

“I like the contrast of it being happy, uplifting music and really dark lyrics,” he added. “It’s not a minimal record, certainly compared to the first one. That’s because there’s been a lot more going on that needed to be said.”

Pre-order ‘Fear Fear’ here and watch the band’s ‘Widow’ video below.

“We just set out to make the best-sounding album we could,” Minsky-Sargeant added of ‘Fear Fear’, which was produced by Ross Orton, whose previous credits include Arctic Monkeys and M.I.A., at Orton’s studio in Sheffield.

Me and Ross have worked tirelessly together on it this past year and I’m really proud of the outcome,” Minsky-Sargeant tweeted when announcing the album was finished last year.

See the artwork and tracklist for ‘Fear Fear’ below.

1. ’19’
2. ‘Fear Fear’
3. ‘Widow’
4. ‘Ploys’
5. ‘Cut’
6. ‘Rapture’
7. ‘Circumference’
8. ‘Heart Attack’
9. ‘Money Is Mine’
10. ‘The Last One’

Reviewing Working Men’s Club’s self-titled debut album, NME wrote: “Cycling through the conflicting emotions that come from living in a society that’s set itself on fire, ‘Working Men’s Club’ is an attention-demanding debut that couldn’t have come at a better time.

“Hope, despair, destruction and the desire for new beginnings, their chaotic energy makes perfect sense in these strange times.”

The post Working Men’s Club announce new album ‘Fear Fear’, share single ‘Widow’ appeared first on NME.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy